The Gilded Cage

by Marshall Browne

ISBN 1 876631 17 1


Published January 2002


This is the first in the trilogy of historical novels of which The Trumpeting Angel is the third.

The Gilded Cage is set in Melbourne during the boom years of the late 1880s. It contains many of the same characters as The Trumpeting Angel.

Marshall is also the author of a crime series featuring the Italian detective Inspector Anders, and a war thriller set in Nazi Germany, The Eye of the Abyss.

"His weave of romance, history, business and geography works beautifully. The city sashays through the pages in all her brilliant - and often brazen - colour." Helen Elliott, Herald Sun, on The Gilded Cage

In August 2003, Duffy & Snellgrove published the second in the trilogy, The Burnt City.

Read how Marshall Browne wrote his historical trilogy.



Email Duffy and Snellgrove